Step Beyond Green ~ to Healthy

 

We're building a 1,800 sq ft healthy home in just 3 days! And it's all for you!  The continued rise in the number of people affected by cancer, autism, asthma and other health conditions is disheartening. More than 16 organizations have found that building materials and construction methods may be causing these illnesses - places like the American Cancer Society, American Lung Association, Breast Cancer.org, Harvard School of Public Health and Autism Speaks to name a few. However, the general public lacks education about how their homes can be causing serious health issues.

 

This year, Source 1 Project Solutions and partners (listed below!), are educating the public about this very topic. In order to make it memorable, we're building a 1,800 square foot healthy home at the 2016 Metropolitan Building Association (MBA) Home Building and Remodeling Show.  You can even see what's behind the walls!  

 

Believe it or not, air flows through our walls, ceilings, and between floors in our homes. Why is that important? Because the glues, insulation, plastics and debris behind your walls may be flowing into the rooms where you eat, watch TV, play and sleep. The finishes and fixtures in your home, mechanicals and water systems in your basement, and exterior finishes and landscaping are equally important and may be giving off chemicals and other debris that could be wreaking havoc with your respiratory system, nervous system, reproductive system and more.  

 

Step Beyond Green to Healthy @ 2016 MBA Home Building & Remodeling Show

January 8th – 10th, 2016

Click here for more information about the MBA Home Builing & Remodeling Show. 

 

 

 

 

2016 Step Beyond Green to Healthy Partners!

These companies are rockin' it out to build a 1,800 square foot house in just 3 1/2 short days!  Well, actually they're 3 1/2 long days for these super stars but you'd never know it by their smiles!

 

"The means by which a building is constructed may affect the quality of the indoor air. The choice of materials, component detailing and material installation play a role in potentially affecting the air quality. Building materials may be sources of pollution within the indoor environment." -Berkeley University of California

 

Source 1 Project Solutions

Design & Construction Management

Lead for Step Beyond Green to Healthy!

Jonathan Synovic

info@source1projectsolutions.com

262-402-6600

A. Fillinger

Custom Cabinetry & Millwork

Ryan Fillinger

ryanf@afillinger.com

414-353-8433

AMC Countertops

Countertop Fabricator

Corey Brand

coreyb@amccountertops.com

920-517-5303

 

Bliffert Lumber & Hardware

Lumber Yard & Hardware Supplier

Dean Erickson

dean@bliffertlumber.com

414-463-7900

 

Brad Jensen Homes

brad@bradjensenhomes.com

262-442-2384

 

Caesarstone USA

Countertop Material Supplier

Karen Spohr

karen.spohr@caesarstoneus.com

224-407-7603

 

Carpetland USA Flooring Center

Flooring Material & Installation

Jesse Neibauer

jessen@carpetlandwi.com

414-534-3860

 

Coates Electric

Electrician

Brody Coates

brody@coateselec.com

262-798-9500

 

Ferguson

Appliances, Plumbing & Lighting Fixtures

Quinn O'Day

quinn.oday@ferguson.com

414-327-8400

 

Gross Heating & Air Conditioning

Heating & Cooling

Alan Ruesch

alan@grossheating.com

262-783-6000

 

James Hardi

Siding Supplier

Pawel Zurkowski

pawel.zurkowski@jameshardie.com

 

JB Custom Drywall

Drywaller

Jon Brown

jon@jbcustomdrywall.com

262-617-0637

 

Marvin Windows & Doors

Window & Door Supplier

Jeff Van De Hey

jeffvan@marvin.com

920-279-2409

 

MLH Consulting

Personal Home Appliance Professional

Mary Lee Hannan

mary-lee@mlhconsulting-llc.com

262-364-9135

 

On The Level

Finish Carpentry

Jim Schickert

onthelevelfc@gmail.com

414-870-9663

 

Perfection Plus Painting

Painting & Staining

Phil Arrigo

pvarrigo@sbcglobal.net

262-532-2473

 

Skeleton Crew Motion Pictures

Video & Photography

Dan Ramsey

dan@skeletoncrewmotionpictures.com

 

 

Tamko Building Products

Roofing Supplier

Mark Erdman

mark_erdman@tamko.com

417-621-1795

 

TimberOx

Stain Supplier

Lyn Jackson

lyn@extwoodrest.com

800-203-5143

 

Villani Landshapers

Landscaping Materials & Installation

Julie Metzger

julie@villani-landshapers.com

262-252-4541

 

Water Doctors

Water Filtration & Purification

John Atlee

jatlee@h2odoctors.com

262-549-7733

 

Wisconsin Insulation

Insulation Material & Installation

Keith Terry

kterry@tds.net

262-252-4602

 

YMYSPOT Cleanup

Professional Cleaning

Yolanda Spears

yolanda@ymyspot.com

414-736-1000

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It Takes a Team
It truly takes a team of healthy designers, product distributors, trade contractors and a general contractor to build healthier. We're not talking about "green" building, which is better for the environment. We're talking about "healthy" building, which is better for people. Healthy building is one step in living a healthier lifestyle.

 

Building healthier is more than selecting product. It's having a team that understands how the installation and construction of the home and workplace is going to affect people. The team must have the abilty to think through day-to-day construction situations and make educated choices. The team must have strong working relationships and plan placement of electrical, water, heating system, etc in a manner that is healthier for people. The team must be lead by a general contractor that understands that the order of operations can have a significant affect on people, and have the ability to lead execution of healthy construction practices. No one trade or company can do it alone.